Equity Scholarships help financially disadvantaged students with the general costs associated with tertiary study.

Equity Scholarships are awarded to students from low socio-economic backgrounds, particularly those who receive Centrelink income support payments.

There are two types of Equity Scholarships:

  • Institution Equity Scholarships (IES) funded by individual institutions
  • Indigenous Student Success Program (ISSP) Scholarships funded by the Australian Government for Indigenous students.

The Indigenous Student Success Program (ISSP) came into effect from 1 January 2017. (Download the ISSP guidelines.) Indigenous students seeking support via ISSP are encouraged to apply for Equity Scholarships through UAC so that their circumstances are reported to participating institutions.

By submitting just one Equity Scholarships application through UAC, you’ll be considered for all available Equity Scholarships for which you’re eligible at participating institutions.

Who can apply?

In order to apply for Equity Scholarships, you must already be enrolled at, or applying for admission to, a participating institution in any of the following ways:

  • applying through UAC for admission as an undergraduate, postgraduate or international student
  • applying for admission directly to an institution (a direct applicant)
  • applying for admission through the Victorian Tertiary Admissions Centre (VTAC) or the Queensland Tertiary Admissions Centre (QTAC).

You can only receive an Equity Scholarship offer from an institution at which you’re currently enrolled or to which you’ve received an offer of admission.

Download the 2017–18 Equity Scholarships booklet for definitions of educational disadvantage, eligibility criteria, and the documentation you’ll need to provide to support your claim.