Updating Results

Swinburne University of Technology

  • 23% international / 77% domestic

Marie Dascoli

I applied online and was hired after an interview. I have been employed in this position for 4 years.

What did you study at undergraduate level and when did you graduate? What are you studying now? Are you studying and working at the same time?

I am employed as an Outside School Hours Care Assistant and also run my own business in resume and professional writing. At the undergraduate level, I studied for a Bachelor of Arts (Psychology & Forensic Science and graduated in 2014. At the postgraduate level, I am studying for a Master of Teaching (Primary) and am due to graduate in 2022. Yes, I am studying and working at the same time.

What have been the most important stages of your life?

Finishing VCE Starting university Completing a modelling course Working full time as a Manager at McDonalds Graduating from my Bachelor of Arts Overseas travel Getting married Buying a house Overseas travel Having a child Undertaking a Master course Starting a business Overseas travel Trying different careers Working as a Behaviour Therapist

How did you get to your current (or most recent) job position and how long have you been working there?

I applied online and was hired after an interview. I have been employed in this position for four years.

About your course

What made you decide to progress with further study?

My prior experience working with children as a Behaviour Therapist and in Before and After School Care, made me decide to become a teacher. I wanted to undertake a Master's course as I already hold a Bachelor's degree and didn't want to commit three years to attaining the same level of education.

How did you choose your particular further study course (compared to others)? / Were you weighing up any alternative degrees or career pathways before choosing this qualification?

I attended Swinburne in my undergraduate course and enjoyed their structure and way of teaching. They offer my current course completely online which is what I needed given I work too and am raising a young family. I considered going to Deakin as well and was considering a Social Work Master course.

What was the process to get accepted into your course? What were the prerequisites?

To have an undergraduate degree. That was the only prerequisite so pretty easy to get into. I guess it helped that I had good grades. It was a simple process and Swinburne tends to make everything a bit easier so I had no difficulties getting into the course I wanted.

What does your study involve? Can you describe a typical day? (if it’s difficult to describe a typical day, tell us about the last thing you worked on?)

I undertake one unit at a time at the moment as that is as much study load as I can handle. I tend to work on my unit about 2 to 3 times a week. I like to stay a week ahead in terms of content, readings, discussions and anything else the week encompasses. I work on assignments from early most times so tend to finish them a week or two ahead of the due date.

Pros and cons

Will this course be beneficial in your career? Where could you or others in your position go from here? Please explain your answer.

It will definitely benefit my career as it will allow me to become a teacher! Once I become a teacher and am comfortable within that role, I would love to be able to get involved with the well-being side of the school I work for. That way I can use my psychology background with my teaching knowledge.

What do you love the most about your course? 

I love that my course is flexible and that there is so much support available. The units are well-run and easy to understand and manage. The units are very interesting and engaging and have a great practical side in which I can practice my skills and knowledge. It's fun :)

What are the limitations of your course?

I don't believe there are many limitations. I guess maybe due dates for assignments can be difficult at times but then there is an opportunity for extensions. When I gave birth to my son, I had two days left on the due date, I was given an extension of one week but was still expected to get it done. That was pretty limiting!

A word to the wise…

Which three pieces of advice would you give to a current undergraduate student? They don’t necessarily have to be related to your studies, or even to one’s professional life.

  • Staying organised is the key to success.
  • You need to know your limitations and what you can handle.
  • Working within your zone is definitely something I would advise. Enjoy what you do!